9-day delay in paying final paycheck costs employer more than $88K

California law requires that when an employee resigns without providing at least 72 hours' notice, the employer must provide a final paycheck within 72 hours of her resignation. If the employer willfully fails to pay the final paycheck, the employee's wages continue as a "waiting time" penalty from the due date until the wages are paid, for up to 30 days. In the following case, the California Court of Appeal reviewed a trial court's award of waiting time penalties and attorneys' fees to an employee for her employer's unsuccessful appeal.

Read More...